The Big Big Sing

banner

The Big Big Sing in Perth Concert Hall last night definitely a ‘high point’. The movement is celebrating the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow this Summer.  About 150 people gathered to be taught by a very talented man Lea Cornthwaite. He kept us moving, laughing and creating a really good sound. My favourite song was Kothbiro.  A song from Kenya about the rain coming and the cattle need to be rounded up, they are precious. This was recognisable as it had been used in the film ‘The Constant Gardener’ . Singing with a crowd, beautiful words and tunes, moves me to the tips of my toes. I could smell the hot African plains and the coming rain. It takes a long while to ‘come down’ from the high point.

 

 

 

 

teacher

 

 

About Hazel

Newly retired from 'going out to work for someone else' - now working for myself and my Maker. Someone once coined the phrase 're-tyred for service' I like that. Not thrown on the scrapheap but being useful in a different way. I enjoy pointing out remarkable things to friends. Events that happen, sights and sounds that delight - or possibly provoke other reactions? Words, pictures, music are a large part of my life here in beautiful Scotland. A Jesus-follower I consciously include him in all my days' events by way of an inner conversation. Maybe this has a lot to do with living alone? My thought processes are frequently uninterrupted and lengthy. I have a grasshopper mind by way of engaging in many interests including nature, photography, music, art, craft, words (reading and writing) history, cooking . I have possibly forgotten some. This blog is a record of the 'crossing points' in life as I see it in 21st century Scotland and then maybe sometimes a word on the 'bits in between' the ordinary and hum-drum moments that we all experience, viewed through the lenses of what may be called a quirky mind. I don't worry if you hop in and out of the journey or stay with me for the long haul. let's see what we find on the way.

Leave a comment

Follow crossing points on WordPress.com